As the song goes:

I see girls,
Here there and everywhere,
Short skirts, long hair,
Love it when they walk yeah!

I love New Zealand in the summer. I have had a fantastic time and I’ll share some snippets.

Wandering the back streets of Parnell I came across a sight to stoke a man’s excitement so to speak. A fully restored and working steam engine puffing gently whilst enthusiasts clambered over the polished and gleaming black body. Suppressed titanic forces ready to be unleashed in order to fulfill the fantasies of an obsessive few. How cool is that? Two weddings and four life-long partners. Warms the cockles of my heart and fills my liver!

Sitting on the beach at Matapouri after a wedding. Maybe 3am. Satellites streaking the sky overhead, racing past never to be seen in the city. Glowing phosphorescence in the sea as I swirl my hands vigorously in the warm water. Parochial accents asking whether you want a hokey pokey or raspberry ripple-flavoured ice-cream. A place where drinking quarts of Bushmans out of a crate is acceptable. My favourite Chinese restaurant in Auckland, Canton, and the abusive staff. The sounds of the sizzle! My sisters engagement party and the realisation that I am gaining a brother which makes me very happy! Arguing over whether hanging a hogget for four days in the garage at a day time temperature 25 deg is a good idea. For future reference, attempting to spit roast something that has shades of green in it, is unwise. Reconnecting with the family and soaking up the sun. Swimming in the pool and relaxing with a beer in hand.

I am currently in London, spring weather with sunny skies. Heading to Belgium tomorrow via Chunnel then onto Amsterdam to seek my fortune.  I have created a stick for myself to assist me in the task of looking for work: “reject convention. It’s fucking conventional you idiot!” I trust the meaning is clear. Cheerio!

